Slough Honours Local Charity Heroes

Eagerly awaited Winners were announced at the glamorous 2019 Voluntary Sector Awards Evening on Friday 15th November at the Heathrow /Windsor Marriott Hotel.  Over 200 guests enjoyed a celebration of volunteering, designed to recognise and thank those who give so much time and commitment to help their community.

Volunteers, members of charities and community groups and business sponsors were wined and dined in style, during an evening of fun and entertainment, which started with a champagne and chocolate fountain reception and ended with dancing into the early hours.

The evening was compered by Ramesh Kukar, Jamie Green and Alan Bevan of Slough CVS and Claire Giacobbe of Osborne, with guests of honour The Mayor of Slough, Cllr Avtar Kaur Cheema and Clinical Lead for Slough CCG, Dr Jim O’Donnell.  Awards were presented by representatives of Slough Borough Council and Trustees at Slough Council for Voluntary Service. The winning Group of the Year received a £1,000 prize, donated by the Rotary Club of Slough.

Award Winners

Business Support of the Year  
Winner Osborne
2nd Place RB
3rd Place Pinewood Studios
Young Volunteer of the Year       
Winner Neil Rutlidge
Runner Up Damien Breslin
Highly Commended Sanna Malik, Hassan Fazeel
Special Recognition Award
Winner Aksa Marshal
Volunteer of the Year
Winner Dolly Bhaskaran
Winner Lin Smeaton
Highly Commended Tracy Harding, Paula Imber, Zhora Jefferies, Bev Kindred
Group of the Year
Winner Samaritans of slough, Windsor and Maidenhead
2nd Place Sewak
2nd Place London and Slough Run
Highly Commended ABC to Read